Thursday, March 28, 2013

Coming Attractions: Adventures of Captain Marvel

Republic Pictures released its 12-chapter movie serial Adventures of Captain Marvel, directed by William Witney and John English, on this date in 1941. Based on the Fawcett Comics (later DC Comics) character created by C.C. Beck and Bill Parker, the action series featured Tom Tyler (Captain Marvel), Frank Coghlan, Jr. (Billy Batson), Louise Curry (Betty Wallace), William Benedict (Whitey Murphy), Nigel De Brulier (Shazam), Harry Worth (Prof. Luther Bentley (a.k.a the Scorpion), Robert Strange (John Malcolm), and Gerald Mohr (voice of the Scorpion).

No comments:

Post a Comment